Ashley McDonald

An SF State Student Attempting to Blog

Clayton Rock Quarry

I was driving the other day and realized that my entire life, there has been a huge eye-sore destroying a nearby mountain.

NEGATIVE

View of Mt. Zion rock quarry in Clayton, CA. Photo By: Ben Hoedt

This photo is the view of Mt. Zion I have seen my entire life. The quarry has been in-use since 1947, according to the Clayton Pioneer. When I saw this photo, I realized that this quarry is not only ruining the mountain in a structural way, it is ruining animal habitats.

I cannot tell you how many dead coyotes, squirrels, skunks and raccoons I see on a daily basis in the area surrounding the quarry.

However, the damage is not purely on animal habitats or aesthetics, it is on the environment. The equipment used to dig the quarries cause a lot of pollution. Big rigs, haulers, bull dozers: they all pollute the earth.

Moral of the story, now that I have become an aware citizen, I plan on doing a little more research on the quarry and seeing what is being done to prevent pollution and damage to the structural soundness of Mt. Zion. I don’t want to be jealous of Livermore anymore. They have the good view of the mountain.

October 20, 2009 - Posted by | Random Musings

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

