Ashley McDonald

An SF State Student Attempting to Blog

The Many Faces of James Bond

bond_bluff_narrowweb__300x340,0

Every 007 that has acted in more than one film

I decided that this blog entry will be about my favorite James Bond actor. I would have to say that it is a close tie between Pierce Brosnan and Sean Connery. Both actors represent exactly what I think of when I think of James Bond: Tall, dark, handsome, good accent, mysterious and clever personality. Plus, all of their movies are my favorite, complete with cheesy one liners galore. Goldfinger, From Russia with Love, Tomorrow Never Dies, The World is Not Enough…all great flicks.

james_bond_die_another_brosnan_x

Pierce Brosnan

james-bond7

Sean Connery

Roger Moore was also a great 007. My only qualm with him was that he wasn’t physically the James Bond I think of and he was playing the James Bond character when he was getting to be a little on the older side in the 80’s. Sean Connery was also a little older in his final movie, but Roger Moore’s age was much more obvious. Moonraker, A View to Kill, Man With the Golden Gun and Live and Let Die were all great films and he was definitely a quality actor.

Roger-Moore-Celebrity-Image-227874

Roger Moore

There were a couple one or two hit wonders that were phased out quickly and with good reason. Their acting was sub-par and they also didn’t fill the James Bond shoes. Now on to the current 007, Daniel Craig. In my opinion, he is awful. Not only does he not look like James bond, but his acting is way too serious. He lacks that ability to deliver his one liners in a cheesy yet awesome manner as his predecessors have been able to. Not that the choice is his fault. For the casting decision, I blame the higher-ups. I think that they should bring back Pierce Brosnan. He is still in great shape and he is still a great actor!

daniel_craig_as_bond

Daniel Craig

Seriously, look at this guy. I know his films are about the “darker-side of 007” but honestly, he looks more like a villain and acts more like a villain than a hero. I think that Pierce Brosnan had the perfect combo of the dark with the light and he would do much more justice to the films than Daniel “I really suck at being Bond” Craig.

September 28, 2009 Posted by | Random Musings | 2 Comments